Bali Promotion Center

Bali Promotion Center
Bali Promotion Center Media Promosi Online

June 21, 2011

Happy 484th anniversary to Jakarta

Happy 484th anniversary to Jakarta. What are our greetings and wishes
for our beloved capital  city?

Jakarta formerly Batavia and officially the Special Capital Territory

of Jakarta), is the capital and largest city of Indonesia. Located on
the northwest coast of Java, it has an area of 661 square kilometres
(255 sq mi) and a 2010 census count population of 9,580,000. Jakarta
is the country's economic, cultural and political centre. It is the
most populous city in Indonesia and in Southeast Asia, and is the
tenth-largest city in the world. The urban area, Jabodetabek, is the
second largest in the world. Jakarta is listed as a global city in the
2008 Globalization and World Cities Study Group and Network (GaWC)
research.The city's name is derived from the Old Javanese word
"Jayakarta" which translates as "victorious deed", "complete act", or
"complete victory".

Established in the fourth century, the city became an important

trading port for the Kingdom of Sunda. It grew as the capital of the
colonial Dutch East Indies. It was made capital of Indonesia when the
country became independent after World War II. It was formerly known
as Sunda Kelapa (397–1527), Jayakarta (1527–1619), Batavia
(1619–1942), and Djakarta (1942–1972). Jakarta has also been known as
the Big Durian by most Indonesians and some foreigners.

Officially, Jakarta is not a city, but a province with special status

as the capital of Indonesia. It has a governor (instead of a mayor),
and is divided into several sub-regions with their own administrative
systems. As a province, the official name of Jakarta is Daerah Khusus
Ibukota Jakarta ("Special Capital City District of Jakarta"), which in
Indonesian is abbreviated to DKI Jakarta.

Jakarta is divided into five kota or kotamadya ("cities" – formerly

municipalities), each headed by a mayor, and one regency (kabupaten)
headed by a regent. In August 2007, Jakarta held its first ever
election to choose a governor, whereas previously the city's governors
were appointed by the local house of representatives. The poll is part
of a country-wide decentralization drive, allowing for direct local
elections in several areas.

The cities/municipalities of Jakarta are:

   Central Jakarta (Jakarta Pusat) is Jakarta's smallest city and
home to most of Jakarta's administrative and political center. It is
characterized by large parks and Dutch colonial buildings. Landmarks
include the National Monument (Monas), the Istiqlal Mosque, the
Jakarta Cathedral, and museums.
   West Jakarta (Jakarta Barat) has the highest concentration of
small-scale industries in Jakarta. The area includes Jakarta's
Chinatown and landmarks include the Chinese Langgam building and the
Toko Merah building. West Jakarta contains part of the Jakarta Old
   South Jakarta (Jakarta Selatan), originally planned as a satellite
city, is now the location of large upscale shopping centres and
affluent residential areas. Jakarta Selatan functions as Jakarta's
ground water buffer, but recently the green belt areas are threatened
by new developments. Much of the CBD area of Jakarta is concentrated
in Setia Budi, South Jakarta, bordering the Tanah Abang/Sudirman area
of Central Jakarta.
   East Jakarta (Jakarta Timur) territory is characterized by several
industrial sectors erected in this city.There are also still some
areas of swamps and rice fields in this city
   North Jakarta (Jakarta Utara) is the only city in Jakarta that is
bounded by the sea (Java Sea). It is the location of the Tanjung Priok
Port. Big-scale and medium-scale industries are concentrated in North
Jakarta. North Jakarta contains the location of Jakarta Old Town,
formerly known as Batavia since the 17th century, and was a centre of
VOC trade activity in Dutch East Indies. Also located in North Jakarta
is Ancol Dreamland (Taman Impian Jaya Ancol), currently the largest
integrated tourism area in South East Asia.

The only regency (kabupaten) of Jakarta is:

   Thousand Islands (Kepulauan Seribu), formerly a subdistrict of
North Jakarta, is a collection of 105 small islands located on Java
Sea. It has a high conservation value because of its unique and
special ecosystems. Marine tourism, such as diving, water bicycle, and
wind surfing, is the most important touristic activity in this
territory. The main transportation between these islands are speed
boat or small ferries.

Landmarks include the National Monument and Istiqlal Mosque. The city

is the seat of the ASEAN Secretariat. Jakarta is served by the
Soekarno-Hatta International Airport, Halim Perdanakusuma
International Airport, and Tanjung Priok Harbour; it is connected by
several intercity and commuter railways, and served by several bus
lines running on reserved busways.
Post a Comment