Bali Promotion Center

Bali Promotion Center
Bali Promotion Center Media Promosi Online

November 04, 2011

Bali to host the 19th Asean Summit and Related Summits from 14 - 19 November 2011


The fabled tropical island of Bali will again host a number of most prestigious ASEAN Conferences this November, under the theme: "ASEAN Community in a Global Community of Nations".
On Thursday, 17th November 2011, the 19th ASEAN Summit will open the series of Summits, followed by ASEAN Plus Three (Japan, China and South Korea) Summit held the next day on Friday, November 18th. While on Saturday, 19th November, the 6th East Asia Summit will convene to be attended by leaders of ASEAN, and those of Australia, China, India, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, as well as the presidents of Russia and the USA.  All three Summits will be centered at the brand new Bali Nusa Dua Convention Center in the Nusa Dua Resort complex.
This is the second time this year that Indonesia hosts the ASEAN Summit as current ASEAN Chair after the one held in Jakarta in May of 2011.
On the sidelines of the three Summits will be among others:  the Third ASEAN-US Summit to discuss ASEAN-US cooperation in the Southeast Asian region and at global level. ASEAN Leaders will renew the declaration on HIV and AIDS, and commemorate the 10th Year of the ASEAN Declaration on HIV and AIDS. Other conferences that will precede the Summits are the ASEAN Supreme Audit Institutions Summit held on November 16th and the ASEAN Business and Investment Summit to take place from 16th to 19th November 2011.
Nearly all 20 world leaders are expected to be present in Bali. Participating for the first time in the East Asia Summit, President of the United States of America, Barack Obama has confirmed his presence at the Summit. Russia’s President Dmitry Medvedev, who will also participate for the first time, and United Nations (UN) Secretary-General, Ban Ki-moon, are also expected to join. Prior to attending the East Asia Summit, President Obama will also attend the ASEAN-US Summit on November 18th.
More than 2,000 journalists from around the world are expected to cover the event. US President Barack Obama alone is reported to bring along about 150 American journalists for the summits.
The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established in Bangkok, Thailand  on 8 August 1967  with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the ASEAN Founding Fathers, namely Indonesia, Malaysia,  the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined on 7 January 1984, Vietnam on 28 July 1995, Laos PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN.
As ASEAN Chair for 2011, Indonesia will definitely make all efforts to lead ASEAN into a better future.
More Information at:
 Source :
Post a Comment